County conservation boards have been created in all of Iowa's 99 counties and are governed by Chapter 350 of the Code of Iowa.


  Clay County, Iowa - Conservation Board

The Clay County Conservation Board employees implement the policies of the five member Conservation Board. In doing so, they serve as the natural resource managers of their areas. Some of the duties of the Conservation Board include working to enhance and protect Clay county's diverse Natural resources by providing outdoor recreation, environmental education, and management of roadsides through the Intergraded Roadside Vegetation Management (IRVM) Program.

Clay County Conservation Board Members:

Lee Schoenewe, Spencer, Chairman
John Sheridan, Greenville, Vice-Chair
Hope Bumgarner, Spencer, Member
Ron Creswell, Spencer, Member
Darrell Frerichs, Ruthven, Secretary
Burlin Matthews, ExOfficio

Open Board Meeting is held on the
second Monday of every month at 6:30 pm in the
Conservation Board office.

62 camp sites are available. Camping is on a 1st come 1st serve basis.

Three cabins are available to reserve,  Please call 712-262-2187 or visit the Scharnberg Park Website to make your reservations online.

Clay County's Natural Wonders - Did you know?
Clay County is home to Bald Eagles!  Along the Little Sioux River from Spencer to Gillett Grove on March 24, 2001 Conservation Board member Lee Schoenewe saw 29 Bald Eagles in less than an hour!! Lee thinks this was the peak of their migration north this year!
Clay County attracts many non resident deer hunters!
Clay County has in excess of 15 miles of trails in managed areas!
The largest northern pike caught in Iowa in the past 10 years was caught at the Schmerse Wildlife area in 1997!
Clay County boasts many native prairie plants!
There are 13 conservation areas in Clay County with facilities for camping, canoeing, hunting and more!

The Clay County Conservation Board maintains their own website. For more information or applicable forms, please CLICK HERE to visit their website.

Clay County Conservation Logo
Address of
Conservation Board's office:
420 10 Ave SE
Spencer, IA 51301

Hours Office is open:
Monday - Friday
7:30 A.M - 4:00 P.M.

Phone Number:
(712) 262-2187

Fax Number:
(712) 262-2856

Office holder name:


Will Horsley

Employees in
Conservation Board's Office:

Kevin Maassen

Travis Riley

Roadside Manager
Marc Gustafson

Brianne Blom

Therese Trojahn

Conservation Forms
Downloadable forms used in the Conservation Office

Conservation Board's Links:
Iowa Association of County Conservation Boards

Native Prairie Plants

Conservation Areas

Rural Clay County

Railroad leading through Dickens

Rural Clay County

Little Sioux River