The Clay County Driver's License Station is open Monday through Friday.
Hours are 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM. Must call to set up an appointment. 712-264-3917
Important Dates for Driver’s License
Your Iowa license expires on your birthday. It is valid for driving for an additional 60 days. It can be renewed within one year of the expiration date without having to take the knowledge test. You can also renew your license 30 days prior to your birthday.
GET A REAL ID BEFORE May 7, 2025 - WHAT DOCUMENTS DO I NEED TO BRING WITH ME
Save time by coming prepared! Find out what documents you need to get your REAL ID gold star driver's licenses or identification card. What documents do I need?
REAL ID-Marked Driver's Licenses and Identification Cards
Iowa began issuing REAL ID-compliant driver's licenses (DL's) and identification cards (ID's) on January 15, 2013, in compliance with the REAL ID Act of 2005. Presently, May 3, 2023 is the date REAL ID's or US Passports will be required for flying in all commercial aircraft in the United States. The REAL ID Act promotes security in the issuance of DL's and ID cards and deters identify theft and fraud by requiring states to meet certain physical and procedural security standards for production and issuance of DL's and ID cards as well as insuring documentation standards are met, including proof of identity, date of birth, Social Security number, residence and lawful status or presence. REAL ID-marked DL's and ID's can be used for "official federal purposes" as well as for driving or identification. "Official federal purposes" are defined as boarding commercial aircraft, entering federal buildings that require identification and entering nuclear power plants.
For more information on REAL ID and how to obtain a REAL ID-marked card, visit: REAL ID Information.